Holy Grail Products 2014

Recently I’ve decided to eliminated a series or two from this blog. Two of them being “Monthly Favorites” & “Product Empties.” My reasoning is that I did not enjoy writing posts of that nature. I’m a creature of habit & when I like something, I stick to it. My tastes don’t vary enough from month-to-month to have new favorites or new empty products. They generally stay the same. With that being said, I felt like I needed at least one post recognizing those products that do stay the same. Products that you reach for time & time again are commonly referred to as “holy grail products.” These have been my holy grail products for the year 2014 & will most-likely continue to be so for a long time.

Dry Shampoo – Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak Refreshing Dry Shampoo is, without a doubt, the best dry shampoo I have ever tried. Trust me, I’ve tried a lot of them. It does not leave a heavy white cast in your hair. The little bit of white that does initially spray out of the can is easily combed out. It comes in a whopping 7 ounce can that will cost you about $6 which, as far as I know, is the best value around. Most importantly, it really works. No matter how oily your hair is, this dry shampoo will have it looking fresh & clean in no time.

Eye Shadow Palette – Urban Decay’s Naked Basics Palette is not only my most-used palette but my most-used eye shadows, period. That’s saying a lot because I own quite a bit of eye shadow. If you’ve been “into” makeup for any length of time, you’ve probably heard people talk about how amazing Urban Decay shadows are. It’s the truth. UD just has a way of making their shadows creamy & beautiful & flawless. It’s also expensive but a palette like Naked Basics is going to give you a lot of mileage for your money. It contains the most perfect white satin highlight color, a nude & a yellow toned lid color, a light & a dark brown crease color, & a deep black for darkening up your outer v or setting your eyeliner. You’ll find a use for all of the colors. Did I mention they’re all matte? With the exception of the satin highlight color, the rest are matte which make them perfect for women of all ages.

BB Cream – Maybelline Dream Pure BB Cream contains 2% Salicylic Acid which makes it perfect for acne-proned skin. Not only will it not break you out; It will treat & prevent breakouts. It has very light coverage which I don’t mind. It has helped to make my skin healthier & therefore, full coverage foundation isn’t necessary.

Mascara – Maybelline Mega Plush Mascara is literally the only mascara I have ever been able to wear. When I wear a mascara that hardens my lashes, I’m bothered by it & end up rubbing & tugging at my eyes all day. It’s odd; I know. That’s why the “gel-mousse formula” of Mega Plush was a life changer for me. It keeps my lashes soft & never clumps. It looks great. I hope Maybelline never stops making this stuff.

Eyeliner – Maybelline Line Stiletto Liquid Eyeliner has the thinnest applicator I’ve ever encountered in an eyeliner. It’s a flexible applicator, unlike the hard marker-like liquid liners. This gives you a lot of precision. Out of all the drugstore eyeliners I’ve used, this has the best staying power. I’ve worn it outside during 12 hour days in 90 degree heat with no budging whatsoever.

Eyebrow Pencil – Revlon Brow Fantasy in Dark Blonde comes double-sided with the pencil on one end & a matching brow gel on the other. I used to use the brow gel & it was good, however I found something better. Now I just use this for the pencil. If you’re a blonde of any shade, you need to try this color. I’ve yet to find anything that looks better with my hair color.

Brow Gel – The ELF Wet Gloss Duo is marketed as a brow gel on one side & a clear mascara on the other but, honestly, I think the formulas are the same on both sides. The formula is perfect as a brow gel, not so much as a mascara. Therefore, I use both sides on my brows which gives me more bang for my buck anyway. When I say buck, I mean literally. This diamond in the rough will cost you $1. It’ll hold the shape of your brows & protect their color from running when you sweat or find yourself in some rain.

Eye Shadow Primer – I’d say that this is a tie between Wet ‘n Wild’s Take on the Day Primer & Urban Decay’s Primer Potion. I truly believe they both do the job equally amazing. The only difference is Wet ‘n Wild will cost you $4.99 & UD will cost you $20. Depending on where you live, you may only have access to one of the other which is why I figured both were worth mentioning. If you have access to both, save yourself $15 & go for the Wet ‘n Wild. You won’t be disappointed.

That’s the end of my list for now. As I grow to love other things, I will update this list. In the meantime, give these products a try & by all means, report back to me & let me know what you think.

One thought on “Holy Grail Products 2014

  1. Pingback: MUOTD (Makeup of the Day) Christmas Party | Beauty Beyond The Scale

Leave a Reply

