Review: Colour Theory (Australian Brand)

Today’s review is going to be a little different as I am going to be discussing multiple products from the same brand. Hopefully this will give you a good overview of what to expect from this brand, as a whole. I haven’t tried all of the products they have to offer, but usually, trying a handful of products tells you whether or not it’s worth your time & money to try more.

IMG_0987[1]

The brand I am going to be discussing today is an Australian drugstore brand called Colour Theory. According to the Colour Theory Facebook page, this brand is sold exclusively at Amcal, Amcal Max, & Guardian Pharmacies. What that means for non-Australians like myself is it’s a little harder to get your hands on these products without having them sent to you by an Aussie friend. However, ebay is a wonderful place where you can find most things so it’s always worth a look.

These products were sent to me by my good friend, Nancy, in our international swap we did several months ago. If you didn’t get a chance to read about that swap & see all of the products that she sent to me, be sure & take a look. Nancy sent me 5 eye shadow palettes from this particular brand. Let’s take a closer look at each one of them.

The Mini Blockbuster Set

IMG_0988[1]

The Mini Blockbuster Set is a collection of 12 eye shadows, 4 blushes, & 2 bronzers. The colors are all light pastels that are perfect for Spring & Easter. Every shade in this palette is a hit. All of the powders are creamy & pigmented. The blushes & bronzers are matte & the shadows are satins. I’d recommend this palette without reservation. Take a look at the gorgeous swatches below.

Blushes & Bronzers:

IMG_0991[1]

Eye Shadows (top right corner)

IMG_0989[1]

Eye Shadows (bottom left corner)

IMG_0990[1]

Notebook Eye Shadow Palette

IMG_0999[1]

IMG_0998[1]

The Notebook Eye Shadow Palette contains 32 shadows that are a mixture of mattes, satins, & shimmers. Every color in this palette is creamy, pigmented, & easy to blend & work with. The pans are a generous size, containing 0.5 g of shadow in each one. There are so many shadows to chose from, you could create almost any look with this palette, alone. If you have access to this palette, I recommend that you get your hands on it because it will become a staple in your collection. I didn’t photograph swatches of all 32 shadows but I think that after you see the handful of swatches in the photo below, it will give you all the information you need to make a judgment about the awesome quality of these shadows.

IMG_1001[1]

5 Pan Palette in Verry Berry (not a typo, it’s actually spelled that way)

IMG_0993[1]

This little palette & the two that I will show you next reminds me a lot of the Wet ‘n Wild Color Icon trios in size & shape. So that I’m not repeating myself for all three of these, I will tell you right off the bat that I recommend all three of them. This particular palette contains pink & purple shades that are all very metallic with the exception of the center shade which is a satin. The metallic shades are very metallic so if that’s not your cup of tea, you may not prefer this one. Personally, I love it. The colors compliment each other very well.

IMG_0992[1]

5 Pan Palette in All Eye Need

IMG_0996[1]

This palette is full of neutral metallic shadows. The only exception is the center shadow which, truthfully, is unusable. In my swatches, you’ll see that I didn’t even include it because I can’t pick up enough color to make a swatch. It’s terribly hard & chalky. Despite that color, the other 4 shades are lovely & they, alone, justify purchasing this palette. If you don’t believe me, just take a look at the swatches below.

IMG_0997[1]

5 Pan Palette in Peacock Party

IMG_0995[1]

If metallic eye shadow isn’t your style, this palette is for you. All of the shades are matte with the exception of the gorgeous silver shade in the center. Every shade in this palette is simply stunning. They’re all quite wearable too. I’ll let the swatches speak for themselves.

IMG_0994[1]

That’s it for my review of Colour Theory. The products in this brand are amazing, especially for how inexpensive they are. I believe they mostly range from $5-$15. If you’re in Australia & you haven’t tried this brand yet, you need to get your hands on some asap.

2 thoughts on “Review: Colour Theory (Australian Brand)

  1. Wow, those are some nice swatches! Usually when I find those big kits from inexpensive brands (ex. ELF) I’m disappointed, but it doesn’t look like there’s a bad one in the bunch (except for the one you didn’t swatch)

Leave a Reply

