“Selfie” Shaming – Why Do Selfies Bother You?

Before you read any further, take a moment & look at this comic, as it’s one of the things that has inspired this post.

First of all, I get it. I know The Oatmeal is tongue-in-cheek social commentary, so please don’t mistake me for someone who doesn’t have a sense of humor. However, many people who read this particular comic & share it on social media agree with the comic in a not-so-tongue-in-cheek way. In fact, some people are downright angry about the fact that people post selfies online.

Why does this matter? Truthfully, it doesn’t. It doesn’t matter at all if I post a selfie & someone hates it & judges me for it. Tho I do find myself feeling a bit of shame before I hit the “upload photo” button. Why? Why should I feel shame in posting a photo that I am proud of? More importantly, why am I being made to feel this way by other members of society?

I do a lot of thinking about why people are the way they are & why they do, say, & think the things they do. So I found myself wondering what it is inside a person that makes them filled with a white-hot fiery rage when they see someone post a photo of themselves online. What I’ve come up with is there has to be something a bit deeper. Is it jealousy? Maybe. More likely, it’s probably an inability to understand where one would get the confidence to post photos because they, themselves, lack that kind of confidence.

Okay, I’ll level with you. I’ve “un-followed” people from Facebook & “muted” people on Twitter who post nothing but selfies. My problem wasn’t with their photos. It was with the lack of content outside of photos. The same rule applies to people who do nothing but share memes or post game invites. I don’t want to see the same type of content over & over again.

If you’re like me & you just don’t want to see 600 photos of someone’s face posted daily, I get it. I see where you’re coming from. The people that concern me are the people who just hate the idea of someone “bragging” or “showing off” in a photo & become hardcore judgmental of a person’s motives for posting a photo.

Sometimes a photo of someone looking nice is simply a photo they were proud of because they looked nice. If you’re like me & you have had a long history of self-esteem issues, snapping a photo that you approve of can be extremely hard. And yet, once you have a photo you approve of , you may feel really proud of it. Not proud because you’re being vain, but proud because you’ve overcome being so hard on yourself, of judging every flaw, of hating every photo, of hating your own appearance, in general.

If you find yourself being perpetually angry about people who post selfies, maybe you need to ask yourself why. Are they really the one with the problem? Or does the problem lie within yourself because you have a long history of self-esteem issues that you haven’t yet learned to deal with? If you think the latter is true, maybe you should go take some selfies & pick one that reminds you of how beautiful you are.

6 thoughts on ““Selfie” Shaming – Why Do Selfies Bother You?

  1. Hahaha! My boyfriend showed me this cartoon last week and he said it was us. It made me laugh. I love selfies and all sorts of other photographs. I love to flick through Instagram and my facebook feed, I am not offended by the pictures that other people post, I just see myself as really nosy. I love taking a selfie myself and I recently got a selfie stick for Christmas, although I haven’t used it yet.

    Lorilee
    xx
    Lorilee’s Adventures

  2. Very well written. I do take selfies. Nevertheless, I am a notoriously bad selfie taker. There have, of course, been times when I have uploaded “too many” selfies. I was new to Instagram at the time. And, yes, people have unfollowed me because of that in the past. Do I care? Nope, not one jot. That’s their prerogative. As it is, of course, my prerogative to take selfies in the first place and then to share them on my personal social media accounts. This was a really interesting post. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Christina x
    christinacampbellhughes.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

