#BloggingToJogging Update 1: Energy Drink Addiction & Treadmill Reconciliation

blogtojogbadge_zpsf50a5b0a

While browsing Twitter the other day, I stumbled upon someone using the catchy-sounding hash tag, #BloggingToJogging. Intrigued, I clicked it & began reading through posts. What I discovered is that this is a project, led by a few bloggers, who want to help themselves & other bloggers keep motivated to make healthy changes all year long (not just as a new years resolution). I really liked the idea of that, especially with how I feel about new years resolutions.

The lovely ladies responsible for this project even set up a support group on Facebook which I immediately joined. I really love Facebook groups dedicated to specific topics. It reminds me of the earlier days of the Internet when I used to spend time talking to people in forums & chat rooms. It can be extremely helpful & you can make a lot of great friends with similar goals & interests.

Before I go on to tell you about what I am doing & will be doing as part of this project, feel free to read more about it here. You may even decide that you want to participate, yourself. If you do, leave me a comment below or tweet me @bbtscale & we can cheer each other on.

I’ve been in & out of a few different lifestyle changes over the past few years. For example, at one point I stopped drinking energy drinks. I’m 100% aware of how bad they are for you but I picked up the habit to support my sleepless nights in college & had a hard time breaking it. I broke it, cold turkey for about a year. I’m not sure when or why I started drinking them again but somewhere along the line, I got addicted all over again.

I don’t use the word “addicted” lightly & I would truly say I was addicted to energy drinks. I felt like I couldn’t function without having one in the morning. I got headaches if I didn’t. I had to keep stocked up on them because I was in a miserable mood if I didn’t have one. I kept buying them over & over, no matter how many times I grimaced at the money I was wasting. Sound like addiction?

As of today, I’ve gone a week & two days without an energy drink. That may not sound like a lot but trust me, it’s a big deal. To help break the addictive cycle of needing one when I woke up, I swapped my morning energy drink for a glass of orange juice. That may sound like a silly swap since orange juice doesn’t have caffeine. What it does have is a sour taste, similar to that of the particular energy drink I was drinking. The sour taste, combined with the fact that it is a cold beverage, gives me a little pick me up in the morning.

If we’re being honest, orange juice isn’t the healthiest drink. It’s healthier than an energy drink but it’s still full of sugar & I’m still drinking calories. However, I’m looking at it as the lesser of two evils. I’d rather consume some extra sugar & calories in a glass of orange juice than some extra sugar & calories plus all the other ridiculous chemicals in an energy drink. Therefore, I’m considering this a victory for now.

My next victory happened just a bit ago. I ran on the treadmill. I’ll go into my off & on treadmill affair in more detail in a future post. But for now, let’s just say, I’m no stranger to it but the holiday season has come between us & it’s time for some reconciliation. I wasn’t on the treadmill for extremely long but I got on it, despite my begrudging attitude & that, in my opinion, is a victory.

For right now, my goals are to continue to stay off the energy drinks & to keep getting on the treadmill. I’ll keep you updated on my progress. Likewise, if you are participating in #BloggingToJogging, let me know what your goals are & update me on your progress. I’d love to hear about it. Good luck!

6 thoughts on “#BloggingToJogging Update 1: Energy Drink Addiction & Treadmill Reconciliation

  1. I used to drink energy drinks whilst in uni to get through my essays and they used to make me have horrible headaches, nose bleeds and my heart would beat faster than normal. That may have been due to me being up all night as well but I haven’t had one since 2009. I will be checking out the project I love a good Facebook group

    Lorilee x

    http://www.lorileesadventures.blogspot.ca/

  2. So cool – the project, not the energy drink dependency (though I can sympathize, I was a caffeine-dependent mess during my uni years). Um, if I can suggest swap suggestions: green juice kicks my butt in the morning but takes some getting used to. Also ginger tea, kombucha and hot water and lemon. If you want to move off the orange juice.

    I would totally be on this movement, but I hate jogging. Congrats on all the progress!

    Tiff | AMtoPM

    • Haha. I think the jogging part of the name is just to be cute & rhyme with blogging. 😉 It’s about making any sort of healthy change that needs to be made. Thanks for your advice, also. I’ll have to try those things & see what works best. 🙂

      • OH then that’s definitely a movement I can get behind! Thanks for the heads up on the group! The lemon water is good if you want to wean off caffeine or are sensitive. Ditto the green juice, plus it helps kick sugar cravings!

  3. Pingback: #BloggingToJogging Update 2: C25K & Healthy Eating | Beauty Beyond The Scale

Leave a Reply

