Review: PB2 Powdered Peanut Butter

IMG_1676
If you’ve found yourself in a grocery store recently, looking at the seemingly endless choices of peanut butter, you’ve probably seen PB2. PB2 is a powdered peanut butter that you mix with water. Powdered peanut butter is certainly an interesting concept. I like interesting things so, of course, I had to give this a try.

The number-one most appealing thing about this product, to me, is its calorie count. It has a mere 45 calories per 2 tablespoons. That’s a huge difference, compared to the 180-200 calories per 2 tablespoons in your average, full-fat peanut butter. So, if you’re a calorie counter who is always looking to shave off a few more calories, this could be good product for that purpose.

The least appealing thing about this product is that it’s lacking in nutrients & probably won’t help satisfy your hunger. The peanuts in PB2 have been dehydrated & stripped of all of their natural oils. They’re then ground into a powder, from which about 90% of the fat content has been removed. That means the “good fats” are also removed. Those are the essential fats that make peanut butter such a filling snack.

As for the taste, it’s okay. I’m not about to tell you it’s fantastic or that it tastes exactly like full-fat peanut butter. It doesn’t. You probably won’t be tempted to eat this off a spoon. It would work well in a smoothie. It’s okay on a sandwich. Any way you use it, the taste isn’t bad, but also nothing to write home about.

So, do I recommend this product? Sort of. I wouldn’t recommend you throw out your peanut butter & switch to this, exclusively. The idea I’ve had for it, however, is to use it with your normal peanut butter, half & half, if you want to cut out some calories & still get some of the nutrients & good fats of peanut butter. Keep in mind, however, that I’m not a nutritionist. This is just an idea that I like the sound of.

Have you tried PB2 yet? Are you tempted to try it? Feel free to leave me a comment with your thoughts!

4 thoughts on “Review: PB2 Powdered Peanut Butter

  1. I feel the same way about PB2. It was like this amazing thing when I heard first about it but upon into it, it isn’t too impressive when you look at what you sacrifice for the calorie count. I can say that there is a Chocolate flavor, but I wasn’t very impressed with that either. I do like mixing PB2 into frozen banana ice-cream though, so I definitely recommend that.

    iamkelskels.blogspot.com

  2. It’s a very interesting concept, but I like my peanut butter already made in the jar so I don’t know how I feel about it having to be mixed with water. I agree with you that this might work better in a smoothie. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

