Review: Eco Tools Konjac Sponge

IMG_1892-0

Have you ever heard of a konjac sponge? Neither did I until a few months ago. The konjac sponge is another beauty find that I owe to my Australian friends on a beauty page I frequent on Facebook. Australia has been ahead of the game on a few awesome beauty trends I’ve written about such as micellar water. However, just like micellar water, konjac sponges are becoming increasingly easy to get in America.

What is a konjac sponge, you ask? According to the Eco Tools web site, “The Konjac sponge is an Asian import made from the Konjac plant. Our new Pure Complexion Sponge available in deep cleansing and sensitive versions are made from a natural fiber that absorbs water. Its unique texture helps scrub away dead skin and keep your face free of blackheads and blemishes.”

I picked up this Eco Tools sponge at my local Rite Aid for $5.99. It’s the first konjac spong I’ve ever tried. For the price, it was a good introduction to the concept. The first time I wet this sponge, I was intrigued by how it felt. It has a weird, silky feel to it that makes it feel like it’s already coated with a cleanser. It is not. It’s also extremely soft & gentle, which shocked me, because I’ve used basic sponges on my face before & they have all been quite rough.

IMG_1893-0

The way I would use this is I would apply my cleanser to my wet face & massage it in before I began using the sponge. That way, I knew that the majority of the cleanser was already on my face & not being soaked up by the sponge. Then I would go in with the sponge & gently scrub my face, spending extra time in the areas where I know I tend to break out or have black heads, like my nose, chin, & cheeks.

I didn’t see any miracle come from using this. I did feel like I was getting a deeper clean than I would by just massaging my cleanser in with my hands, alone. I wouldn’t say this sponge helps with exfoliation at all, as it’s way too soft for that.

The thing that made me unhappy with this product is it came with no instructions on what to do to keep it sanitary. I began to be really uncomfortable with the fact that this was sitting in my shower & then being applied to my face. I took to Twitter & sent out a tweet asking others how they go about cleaning & caring for their sponge. I was tweeted by another konjac sponge company who suggested I dip it in boiling water once a week. I began to do that.

Even then, I was still grossed out by the sponge sitting in my shower. What I came to realize, by looking at other konjac sponges online, is most come with a string attached so you can hang them up & let them drip dry. I recently came across another brand of konjac sponge at my local T.J. Maxx that was $4.99 & came with a string attached (review coming soon). I bought that one & threw my Eco Tools sponge away. I had been using it for over a month anyway.

Overall, I like the idea of konjac sponges. The Eco Tools one is okay but I’d like to see them add a string & some care instructions. If you think I’m being a bit dramatic, keep in mind that I have suffered from relatively bad acne that I am just getting under control. Any time you apply dirty hands, makeup brushes, or tools of any kind to your face, you’re transferring acne-causing bacteria to your face. Because of that, I’m particular about how I handle the skin on my face. Frankly, we should all be particular about what we put onto our face.

Have you tried a konjac sponge yet? What brand should I try next? Leave me recommendations in the comments. If you’d like to try this one, you can find it on Amazon, here.

10 thoughts on “Review: Eco Tools Konjac Sponge

  1. I think you can also put them in the microwave like I do with my Beauty Blender. I love the fact that ecotools is $5.99 so much less than the other brands. But I need one for sensitive skin and so far only the pricey ones have that option

  2. Yay! I’m glad you got to try the konjac sponge. I do wish it came with instructions because all of the ones I’ve tried had inserts on how to use and sanitize them just in case. I do wish that it came with a string like you mentioned because then you can hang it to dry. ❤ I hope you find another one to try and fall in love with too…

  3. Interesting, I have never heard of this sponge before – I don’t think you are being dramatic at all! I agree, anything being applied to your face should be well cleaned all the time! Ecotools should make a note of that – and also why would a company not include any instructions?! I will stay tuned for the next review!
    Renee C.
    seetheworldinpink.blogspot.ca

  4. I agree with you on how they should include a string! I have 2 Konjac sponges right now – one from amazon and another my friend gave me from Sephora! The latter is my favorite! Konjac sponges definitely help me and have reduced my acne! I’m glad I read your review on this one because I did get an Eco Tools sponge a few months ago but was iffy on opening it!

Leave a Reply

