Hair Brush Collection & Reviews

h1

I know what you’re probably thinking after reading the title of this post. What normal person has a hair brush collection? The answer to that is – someone who is very curious & always has to try the latest gimmick, aka, me. In fairness, I’ve had some pretty reasonable excuses for my hunt for the perfect hair brush. During the last 8 years of my adult life, I’ve dyed my hair two of the most damaging colors possible – bleach blonde & red. If you’ve been either of those colors, you know that maintaining them involves frequent dying which is harsh on your hair & dries it out a lot. Dry hair leads to tangles. Tangles lead to breakage if they’re not handled with extreme care & good tools. All four of the brushes I’m going to be talking about today have been good tools in protecting my hair from damage.

Tangle Teezer
h4

I bought the Tangle Teezer about 4 years ago from Sally Beauty Supply for around $13. At the time, Sally Beauty was one of the only places you could buy this brush. Now, I think you can buy it (or something very similar to it) nearly everywhere. This brush is unique because it has no handle & fits in the palm of your hand. This was meant to give you better control over it. Honestly, the lack of handle just causes me to drop the brush a lot. Maybe it’s just because I’m clumsy but this brush has slipped out of my hands & slid across the floor countless times. However, the brush really does do an amazing job at untangling your hair with little to no pain or effort. The numerous, fine bristles are perfect for super knotty hair. I carry this brush in my purse because it’s small & compact.

Macadamia No Tangle Brush
h5

I bought this brush, probably, a few weeks after I bought the Tangle Teezer. I liked that it had similar bristles but also had a handle. I got mine from eBay for about $15 & it included a mini .34 ounce bottle of the Macadamia Healing Oil Treatment (which I loved & purchased again later). I’ve definitely used this more than the Tangle Teezer because I like the handle. It, like the Tangle Teezer, is excellent at untangling messy knots. I keep this brush in my bathroom & use it very often.

Goody Quikstyle Paddle Brush
h3

Okay, the claims of this brush sound pretty silly. The Goody Quikstyle is a brush that has antimicrobial microfibers in between the bristles intended to help dry your hair. It’s probably the single-most gimmicky brush on the market & I had to have it. Does it magically insta-dry your hair? No. Especially not if your hair is soaking wet. It does, however, help things along a tiny bit if your hair is slightly damp. It does appear to have antimicrobial properties of some sort because I’ve had this for several years & I’ve seen no signs of mold or any other gross things you would expect to find on a brush that contains what are, essentially, bits of wet towel. This brush is sturdy, a nice size, & works well on tangled hair because of its paddle shape. I bought this from Wal Mart for around $13. It’s not my go-to brush but I use it sometimes & overall, I do like it.

The Wet Brush
h2

This is my newest brush. I bought it at the end of December for about $10, from the Wet Brush website. This brush smells badly when you first take it out of the package. It has a strong, odd, plastic smell that goes away after you allow it to sit & air out. The nuisance of the initial smell is, however, worth it. This is a great brush for untangling your hair, wet or dry. It, like the Tangle Teezer, has numerous, fine bristles. It also contains some larger, thicker bristles. The two types of bristles, together, are the perfect combination to tackle knotty hair. It is a solid, sturdy brush with a nicely-shaped handle. This has been my go-to, every day brush as of lately.

Have you tried any of these brushes? What is your favorite? Also, what brush should I try next? I’m quite curious about The Shine Brush (made by The Wet Brush company). Leave me a comment with your thoughts.

13 thoughts on “Hair Brush Collection & Reviews

  1. I tried the detangler – the pink one and loved it! I love the way it fits in the palm of my hand! I really want to try the Macadamia No Tangle brush though! I currently only use a comb since I haven’t found the right brush yet, but I’m going to look into the other two brushes you have as well!

  2. I decided to try the Macadamia No Tangle Brush instead of the Tangle Teaser and I love it. I’ve got that Wet Brush on my wishlist of things to get too. Thanks for this post, I mean everyone needs the perfect hair brush. xx

    xo Brigette from brigetteramos.com

  3. I heard a lot of good things about the Wet Brush and glad to find out that it works really well. My favorite hairbrush I use is the EcoTools Styler+Smoother brush. It’s multifunctional and detangles, smoothes, and massages your scalp as you brush. It can be used for wet or dry hair and helps wet hair to dry faster. ^^ You should try it if you can find it.

    x Carol
    intrice.blogspot.com

  4. Haha thanks for the review! I honestly don’t remember the last time I bought a hairbrush.. I tend to let my hair grow and then cut it super short, so I don’t think I’ve ever let myself let it get to a point to need a brush haha. I’ll be sure to keep my eye out for a tangle teaser though, it sounds like something perfect for when I’m trying to de-tangle my hair when it’s curly!

    iamkelskels.blogspot.com

  5. No, I haven’t tried any of those brushes. Many years ago, I spent a lot of money on a Mason Pearson brush and on a Kent of London brush. I still have them, but to be honest, I use the Conair cheapie that I bought at Walmart most!

  6. I generally use only one brush and it’s very similar to the tangle teezer. It works really well and I’ve had it for quite some time. The No Tangle Brush may have to be one that I turn to soon because I truly do miss handles!

Leave a Reply

