Skincare Routine Winter 2014

This winter I made some major changes to my skincare routine. Up until now, I’ve used a lot of acne products. But now that I’m in my mid-twenties, my skin is beginning to change so it’s time to change how I care for it.

Instead of using harsh acne products, I now use, mostly, products meant for sensitive skin. Most of the products I use come from Simple Skincare. I use the Simple Moisturizing Cleanser, alternating with the Simple Smoothing Facial Scrub once every few nights. I also use the Simple Replenishing Rich Moisturizer. To remove my makeup, I use either the Simple Micellar Cleansing Water (for a full review of the Micellar Water, click here) or the Cleansing Facial Wipes. I find that all of these products are gentle, never dehydrate my skin, &  keep my skin clean & acne-free.

Another product that I use, after cleansing my face is witch hazel. I’m not particular about what brand of witch hazel I use. I think mostly any brand will get the job done. I use this as a toner or astringent to remove any dirt, makeup, or bacteria that my cleanser may have left behind.

As an acne spot treatment, I use tea tree oil. Just like witch hazel, I’m not particular about what brand of tea tree oil I use. Mostly any brand will get the job done & I buy whatever brand gives me the most bang for my buck. Tea tree is an antiseptic so it works to kill the source of acne. I apply it directly to acne breakouts, using clean fingers. If I’m having a particularly large amount of breakouts, I’ll even add about 10 drops of tea tree oil to a small spray bottle of water & spritz my entire face. 

Any time I feel like my skin is particularly out of control, I wear a Sudocrem mask overnight. Sudocrem is a diaper rash cream used in several countries. It’s not sold in the US so I order it online but it’s totally worth it because it’s a miracle-worker. I wrote about it, in detail, here.

To lighten what some people might call “blackheads” on my nose, I use the Mario Badescu Silver Powder. I began using this rather than the Biore Pore Strips after reading that the pore strips can actually make your pores larger. The Silver Powder is more gentle & works just as well. I use it about once a week. 

Lastly, I make sure to keep a large bottle of hand sanitizer next to my makeup & skincare products. I always sanitize my hands before applying makeup, moisturizer, etc. This keeps me from transferring bacteria from my hands to my face. It makes a world of difference in preventing breakouts.

That’s my everyday skincare routine!  I’m still in the process of finding an eye cream & a facial serum that I like. At the moment, I just experiment with different products in those departments. Maybe you guys can make a recommendation? If so, leave me a comment.

 

One thought on “Skincare Routine Winter 2014

Leave a Reply

