How I Saved My Ruined Clothing With $2 & 15 Minutes



Today’s post is inspired by my friend Priyanka’s blog, Glamour and Giggles. She’s doing a new weekly series called “Friday Night Ramblings,” in which she veers away from her typical beauty-related posts & just talks about whatever. She’s been encouraging others to join her so I figured, why not? I probably won’t do these every Friday but I’ll certainly do them whenever I have something I feel like sharing.

What I’d like to share with you today is how I ruined some of my clothes, then saved them again with just $2 & 15 minutes. How did I ruin them, you ask? To put it bluntly, I was being a moron. I threw my white socks & bras in the wash with some dark clothes. Now, I’ve done this before & it’s usually no big deal. Except this time, I also had a brand new pair of blue jeans in the wash.

Once I saw my newly blue tie-dyed socks & bras, I realized my mistake. I did what I always do in these situations & consulted google for exact instructions on how to fix this mess. Google suggested I throw the clothes in some bleach water for 15 minutes. More specifically, it suggested a ratio of 1 part bleach to 30 parts water (just in case you find yourself in this same scenario someday). 

I didn’t have any bleach on hand or a bucket to soak the clothing in. So, off to the Dollar Tree I went. I got a plastic bucket & a large bottle of bleach for $1 each.  I soaked my ruined clothing in the bleach water for 15 minutes, as instructed by Google & voila! My whites were white again.

If you take one thing from this post, it’s separate your clothing properly. If it’s too late for that lesson, follow my instructions above. If nothing else, I hope you got a chuckle out of my example of how NOT to be a “domestic goddess.”

What’s the biggest laundry mistake you’ve ever made? Were you able to fix it? Leave me a comment. Happy Friday & have a great weekend!  

7 thoughts on “How I Saved My Ruined Clothing With $2 & 15 Minutes

  1. I am so glad you joined me in this series! I’m horrible at separating clothes – I hardly ever do it and I’m positive I will regret it someday >.< I'm glad you were able to save your clothes though!

  2. Stupidly putting a cashmere jumper in the washing machine on a ‘normal’ cycle – it shrunk to the size of a 5 year old child lol – won’t make that mistake again!! 👎

  3. Thanks for this tidbit on information, i have some items I need to work on. My daughter had a bottle of foundation spilled on her white dress at Sephora last week, that’s what happens when your keeping your Mum company while she gets her make up done at the beauty counter. Two washes and it has come out BUT there is still a smudge of it. Brand new dress.

    • Oh no! Bleach might help with that but I also read that, depending on the material, it could leave some yellowing in place of the stain so I’d be wary on a nice dress. I hope you find something that works!

Leave a Reply

