Review: Barry M. Summer Love Palette (UK Brand)



Today’s review is of a palette I purchased from eBay. It is the Summer Love pallete by Barry M. Barry M. is a brand in the UK that is very popular for its nail laquers. However, I’ve never heard anything about their eye shadows & really wanted to give some a try. This palette was shipped to me from the UK & cost me $10 + free shipping.

As of the date of this post, I’ve had this palette for exactly one day. This would be the shortest amount of time I’ve ever owned a product before reviewing it for you. However, I feel so strongly about the opinions that I am about to express to you that I feel like I don’t need to beat around the bush.



This palette was not expensive at $10. It was, however, a total waste. I feel like I could have cut out the middle man & just lit my $10 on fire. As dramatic as that sounds, it’s truly how disappointed I am in these shadows.

Let’s begin by looking at some swatches. The following swatches were done over primer. They don’t look horrible in the photo but what you’re seeing is the result of layer upon layer just for the sake of getting the shadows dark enough to photograph.



The shadows have almost no pigment to them upon first swipe onto my hand or arm. On my lids, they’re even more pale-looking. Using a brush is out of the question. Using your finger is better but still requires so much layering, I couldn’t imagine using this in the morning when I’m in a rush to get out the door.

The blue is the only shade that even shows up enough to be worth putting on. However, it (like the rest) is very powdery & flakes off your lids, causing the color to fade immediately. After wearing it for just a few hours, there is practically nothing left on your lids but glitter.

The gold cream highlighter is slightly more pigmented than the shadows. At first glance, it appears to be a dupe for Benefit’s Watt’s Up highlighter. However, it’s very greasy & reminds me of straight up petroleum jelly. It’s not something I’m willing to put on my face to possibly aggravate my acne. 

My final verdict is two thumbs & both big toes down. In fact, I may need to borrow a few more thumbs & toes from other people. There are better bargain palettes out there. If you’re in the UK & on a budget, stick to Sleek, Makeup Revolution, or W7. 

3 thoughts on “Review: Barry M. Summer Love Palette (UK Brand)

  1. Of course I posted my comment before I was done .-. But I def need to try some sleek palettes! I was impressed with makeup revolution’s palette and want to try another one of theirs as well! Those darn shipping costs though 😦

Leave a Reply

