Review: NEW Freeman Banana Oat Instant Smoothing Mask

IMG_4356

I’m a big fan of Freeman masks & always get excited when I see that they’ve come out with a new one. You might remember my review of their Sweet Tea & Lemon mask from January. This time I’ll be reviewing their new Banana Oat Instant Smoothing Mask which they describe as an “exfoliating smoothie.”

According to the package, this product uses Alpha Hydroxy Acids to smooth & exfoliate the skin on your face. The directions say to apply the mask for 7 minutes before rinsing thoroughly & immediately following up with a moisturizer. It also warns that you should remove it earlier if you experience severe burning or stinging.

This mask has a delicious banana scent to it. It applies clear & has a texture & consistency reminiscent of hair gel. The following is a photo of the mask applied to my face.

IMG_4359

For me, I was able to keep the mask on for the entire 7 minutes before I began feeling any real burning. The burning was on my forehead which is a dryer area of my face. I also noticed that my face appeared to have some redness but I would not consider the redness or the burning to be severe.

After rinsing the mask off, my face looked fairly parched & I could see why the directions stated that you should immediately follow up with a moisturizer. For the first time, I could see that the area of my forehead between my eyebrows was starting to have some lines in it (aka lines that could potentially turn into wrinkles).

Don’t get me wrong; The mask didn’t cause the lines. It just removed enough oil, dirt, & dead skin that I could clearly see them & realize they were there. This is good for me because I now know that I need to pay more attention to moisturizing that area.

After following up with a moisturizer & quenching my parched skin, my face got back to looking & feeling normal. The redness, burning, & lines all went away. My skin just felt smooth, clean, & exfoliated.

Overall, I’m very happy with the results of this mask. I find it to be a bit harsh & probably wouldn’t recommend doing it more than once every handful of weeks (or maybe even once a month). But I think it’s a nice treatment for when you want a really deep-down clean.

Have you tried this mask yet? I’d love to hear how it worked out for you. Leave me a comment!

6 thoughts on “Review: NEW Freeman Banana Oat Instant Smoothing Mask

  1. Pingback: Review: NEW Freeman Sweet Tea & Lemon Mask | Beauty Beyond The Scale

  2. Hmmm, burning doesn’t really sound so good. What % AHA is in the mask? Maybe you need to work up to it with a lower percentage of AHAs. But glad the burning and lines didn’t last.

  3. I loved the mask when I tried it today for the first time. I have oily skin so it totally wiped all the oil off my face, and after moisturicing gave me the freshed face look I had been missing. Also once you do this mask any make up application looks much better overall because skin is renewed.

  4. I used this mask today and it made my face bright red and stung a bit. I like the scent too bad I had such a bad reaction

Leave a Reply

