What the Heck is Kinesiology Tape?

azsport

A fun fact about me is when it comes to health & beauty, I’ll try anything once. I’m pretty open-minded about most things & like to find out for myself whether or not things work. If you’re a frequent reader of my blog, you’ve probably seen me talk about using teas & oils for your health. If you know me in real life, you’ve probably heard me discuss herbs & meditation. You name it, I’ve probably either tried it or, at least, researched it.

Given my natural curiosity about health-related things, it’s no surprise that I was intrigued when I first heard about “Kinesiology tape.” What is it? According to Web MD, “the tape was invented by Japanese chiropractor, Kenzo Kase, in the 1970s. The U.K. web site for Kinesio tape claims it can alleviate pain, reduce inflammation, relax muscles, enhance performance, and help with rehabilitation as well as supporting muscles during a sporting event.”

If you try & research exactly how the tape is supposed to do all of those things, you will find various answers. I’ve read a few of the following theories. The tape lifts the skin slightly away from injured muscles and joints, helping them to heal by relieving them from extra pressure. The tape provides stimulation to the skin on an injured area, similar to rubbing an area that hurt. The tape increases blood flow to the injured area.

Those are just a few of the numerous theories out there. One of the more popular theories is that the tape simply gives a placebo effect. According to Web MD once again, “There has not been conclusive scientific or medical evidence to confirm the effectiveness of the tape. A review of evidence from 10 research papers for Kinesio tape to treat and prevent sports injuries was published in the journal Sports Medicine in February.

  • No clinically important results were found to support the tape’s use for pain relief.
  • There were inconsistent range-of-motion results.
  • Seven outcomes relating to strength were beneficial.
  • The tape had some substantial effects on muscle activity, but it was not clear whether these changes were beneficial or harmful.

The study concluded there was little quality evidence to support the use of Kinesio tape over other types of elastic taping to manage or prevent sports injuries. Some experts have suggested there may be a placebo effect in using the tape, with athletes believing it will be helpful.”

I received some of this tape for review from a company called AZSport (via Tomoson). I used it on a hip injury I currently have. There weren’t directions included with the tape so, after doing some online research, I placed the tape down my side & across my hip in a way that I felt may be helpful. I’m can’t 100% say whether it helped tho I felt like it did. Was this placebo? Maybe. But I know that there is power in placebo & many times, believing that something works can be just as good for you as having it actually work.

For about $10 on Amazon (listing for AZSport currently unavailable tho this tape is sold by many other sellers), this is worth trying if you’re curious. You get a pretty decent sized roll & the tape is elastic so a little goes a long way. If you try it, I’ll be curious to hear back from you as to whether you felt it worked.

Regardless of whether you have tried Kinesiology tape, plan to try it, or have no intentions to try it, I’d love to hear your opinion. Do you think this sounds like something that’s actually helpful? Do you think it’s just placebo? Leave me a comment!

7 thoughts on “What the Heck is Kinesiology Tape?

  1. A guy I work with is a runner and he uses it instead of compression sleeves. He loves the stuff. I’ve never tried so I dunno but I’m like you, I’ll try anything once, I just hadn’t thought about it.

  2. Never heard of it! Sounds like something I should try though, I got t-boned last year and my back is messed. I’ve been doing acupuncture for pain but this sounds like a good idea to try in-between visits. Thanks for sharing!

    • I never watch any sports or the Olympics but I read that it’s really common to see Olympic athletes or other sports players wearing it. Maybe that’s where you’ve seen it. But yeah, it’s an interesting concept & it seems like a lot of people are into it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

