Review: Wet n Wild 1 Step Wonder Gel in Pinky Swear

  

While it’s still relatively new, I wanted to give you a super quick review of the Wet ‘n Wild 1 Step Wonder Gel nail polish in Pinky Swear. This is the only shade I have picked up so far. If you’d like to see me review other shades I try in the future, let me know.

Because of the name “1 Step,” I’m not sure if this is intended to be worn with a separate top coat or not. So, I tested it both with and without a top coat. It performed similarly either way.

In the following photos, I am wearing 2 coats of Pinky Swear, Orly’s “Wont Chip” top coat, & Rimmel “Tinsel Toes” on my accent nail. The photo on the left was taken after the polish was freshly applied. The photo on the right was taken about 24 hours later.

 
As you can see,  the polish chipped fairly badly. The photos were of my left hand. My right (dominant) hand that I use more chipped even worse. 
I can say I’m not surprised. I’ve yet to find any nail polish that knocks my socks off as far as staying power goes. It is, however, a nice color & an easy-to-apply formula. So, as long as you’re willing to reapply it in a day or two, it’s okay.

Overall, I’m not sorry I bought this but I’m not impressed either. It’s a higher priced item for being Wet ‘n Wild. I think it was $4.99. I’d say if you want to try these, get them on sale & find a coupon. 

Have you tried any of these yet? What did you think? Leave me a comment! 

8 thoughts on “Review: Wet n Wild 1 Step Wonder Gel in Pinky Swear

  1. You’re supposed to use their step 2 top coat. Also supposed to not get the polish all up in your cuticles. Getting nail polish to last is a process involving base coat and top coat always, prepping the nail bed and applying carefully.

    • I went to the Wet ‘n Wild web site to look for the “step 2 top coat” because I have never seen it anywhere.

      But just as I thought the name “1 Step Wonder Gel” implied, the Wet ‘n Wild web site says, “It’s a bird, it’s a plane, it’s Wonder Gel! The first gel formula that doesn’t require a top coat and cures without a lamp, this nail color breakthrough is about to become your nail MVP. Provides up to 2 weeks of color and shine in 1 easy step. – See more at: http://www.wetnwildbeauty.com/new/1-step-wondergel-nail-color.html#sm.0001qhrwmofjtejbu6b17o049nsrw

      Therefore, base & top coat aren’t recommended for this. So, that’s why I tested it that way. However, as I said in the post, I did try it with a top coat as well (on a separate occasion) & got the same results.

      Have you tried *this, specific* polish & had better luck? Let me know. I’m curious.

    • I think it’s also worth noting that even with my application by my cuticles being messy, that’s not where the nail polish is chipping off in the photos. It’s chipping at the tips.

      I’ll be the first to admit I’m no pro at nail polish application. As careful as I try to be, it’s still not the best. Tho I think the same could be said for most average customers buying these Wet ‘n Wild polishes.

  2. Not sure how you got them to chip this bad in 1 day!!! I garden without gloves, type all day, dig up weeds etc and do not have this kind of chipping. I did find the shine better with a top coat, so I did that last time time, but before that I was getting pretty good wear for at least 5 days. Pinky Swear maybe is a chip prone colour? Pretty Peas and Stay Classy worked out real well. I will be using a top coat even if they don’t recommend it because I dig in my garden daily. Try a top coat and see what you think.

      • I got Pinky Swear this morning so will be trying it out this weekend, hoping the colour isn’t a dud but there will be top coat because this colour is so cute I want it to last!!

      • OK I tried pinky swear and it did NOT last as long as either Pretty Peas or Stay Classy. For me it was 48 hours before chips and cracks. I did use a base and top coat and applied 3 coats. Poo 😦

      • Thanks for reporting back! I’m sorry it didn’t work for you but glad to have confirmation that it wasn’t just some crazy fluke on my end. Haha. I’ll definitely have to try some other colors then because I love Wet ‘n Wild & I really want to like all of their products. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

