Review: LA Colors Matte Eyeshadows in Purple Cashmere & Natural Linen 


Today’s review is of some extremely affordable matte eyeshadow palettes I recently found at Dollar General. These palettes are by the drugstore brand, L.A. Colors. I picked up two palettes: Purple Cashmere & Natural Linen.


Natural Linen is, I think, supposed to be a dupe for the Urban Decay Naked Basics 2 palette. I don’t own that one but I do own the original Naked Basics, which is a staple of mine. The colors may be similar, but I can tell you the quality doesn’t come close. 

The quality of Purple Cashmere is the same as that of Natural Linen. The colors are nice. The pigmentation is buildable. It’s not a bad palette. It’s just not worth my time. 

What I mean is that the colors in both of these palettes are chalky. You have to work hard to get the shadow on your brush or finger. You have to work hard to get the shadow to show up on your eyes. And you have to work hard to blend them nicely.

As a makeup collector with numerous other palettes to use, I wouldn’t bother putting in the extra time to make these work. With that being said, if you are just starting out in building a makeup collection or if you are young or on a tight budget, these can work for you. Just don’t expect Urban Decay quality.

Overall, I don’t think these are horrible. But I’d much rather throw in a few extra dollars for a Wet ‘n Wild palette instead. Have you tried these? Let me know your thoughts! 

Leave a Reply

